Snow snow go away

This year is the first year that I’ve been in the city and we’ve had major snow.

It’s the worst. When I leave for work at 6am before everything is shoveled, I feel like I’m wading through cold wet sludge.

This is what I have to look forward to in the mornings.

This is what I have to look forward to in the mornings.

To combat the cold, I have three levels of winter wear and winter footwear. I feel like I’ve been living in my level 3 winter coat since November, covered from head to shin with stuffed feathers.

Brr

Brr

I remember my first snow day in second grade. I got to stay home from school AND play, score! I made tunnels in the snow, built forts, and tried to roll snowballs for snowmen. Somehow as I get older and crankier, I hate snow more and more. It’s cold, wet, dirty, and makes my toes sting when I finally reach a warm area.

Trying to get into the snowy mood, I made some candycane saltine toffee. My co-worker also likes candycane so I knew I would have some help eating it 🙂

This recipe is great for something different to add to a cookie platter. It’s also easy to make and pretty quick to throw together, no funky ingredients or equipment!

Candycane Saltine Toffee Bark

Chomp chomp chomp

Chomp chomp chomp

Ingredients:

40 Saltines
1 cup butter
3/4 cup sugar
2 cups white chocolate chips
1 cup crushed candy canes

Instructions:

1.) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
2.) Line a cookie sheet with foil
3.) Arrange the saltines in a single layer with no overlap. I broke some saltines in half to fit the pan

Apologies for any OCD readers.

Apologies for any OCD readers.

4.) In a small saucepan, melt the butter and then add the sugar. Stir for 3-4 minutes, until bubbly and slightly thickened.
5.)Pour the butter and sugar evenly over the saltines
6.)Bake for 5-6 minutes, until golden brown.

IMAG0942
7.) Remove from the oven and immediately sprinkle chocolate chips. When the chips eventually melt, use a spatula and smooth the chocolate chips over the saltines.
8.) Sprinkle crushed candycanes all over. Cool completely and enjoy!

Ta-da

Ta-da

Leave a comment